Kandi is the Telugu word for pigeon peas. Pachadi means chutney in telugu. Kandi pachadi refers to a chutney made with pigeon peas. Toor dal or pigeon peas were one of the most commonly cultivated lentils in the region. Apart from making pappu or dal dishes for their everyday meal even this chutney was made to go with hot rice and ghee. Kandi pachadi is also served with breakfast foods like idli, dosa, punugulu & garelu. In the modern days, most women have forgotten this chutney and is rarely made. Same with me as my mom never made kandi pachadi and I had never even eaten this until I got married. My husband loves this kandi pachadi a lot and always would suggest me to learn this. I got to taste this in an authentic Andhra restaurant here in Singapore. After a few trials I am here with this awesome kandi pachadi recipe. Kandi pachadi is made by deep roasting toor dal & red chilies. It is then blended with salt, tamarind, garlic and jeera. Lastly it is tempered with mustard, urad dal, curry leaves and red chilies. If you prefer to serve this with rice, then make the pachadi to a thicker consistency using minimum water. Runny chutney doesn’t taste good with rice. Since I made it for our breakfast I made it slightly runny. You can also roast the ingredients for chutney the previous night. Below are some variations I have tried. More chutney recipes Peanut chutney curry leaves chutneybeerakaya pachadicapsicum chutneyGinger chutney

Variations

Related Recipes

Recipe Card